Building a digital lighthouse in one of the world’s largest chocolate factories​

Customer

MARS is a multi-national company with over 230 productions sites worldwide. Their production site in Veghel, Netherlands is one of the biggest chocolate factories around the world, producing some of the most popular chocolate bars such as Mars, Snickers and Bounty.

Challenge

The plan is for the factory to become one of the global digitalization lighthouses. Therefore, there was a high pressure to demonstrate results on all projects and all involved associates from the factory. ​Many individual projects were already started or in the project pipeline. They were recruiting resources for both project execution and program management. However, the roadmap for this transformation was missing.

Approach

The first step was to assess the status quo to identify the biggest operational challenges and estimate the potential. Based on this, we defined overall work streams, created roadmaps together for these, and defined detailed project plans. We were then able to establish a program structure that included tools to define projects and track and evaluate the current project status.

Results

The result of this collaboration was an effective digitalization program management for an efficient transformation, which we had launched after only 8 weeks. By co-creating a detailed roadmap and project charter that included required resources, budget, and estimated impact, we were able to identify the digitalization potential of 10-15%.


“With the help of the Industrie 4.0 Maturity Center, we were able to efficiently specify the biggest opportunities in the factory, design a comprehensive program & get the internal team & reporting structure in place to make our digital lighthouse factory reality"

Frank Elbers
Industrial Engineering & Supply Excellence Manager
Mars Nederland BV.


Digitalization opportunity
> 10 - 15% identified

Effective digitalization program
up and running after 8 weeks

Dr.-Ing. Tobias Harland
Dr.-Ing. Tobias Harland

Senior Manager

Tobias.Harland@i40mc.de


This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

Building a digital lighthouse in one of the world’s largest chocolate factories​

Kunde

MARS ist ein multinationales Unternehmen mit über 230 Produktionsstandorten weltweit. Die Produktionsanlage in Veghel, Niederlande, ist eine der größten Schokoladenfabriken der Welt und stellt einige der beliebtesten Schokoladenriegel wie Mars, Snickers und Bounty her.

Herausforderung

Das Werk soll zu einem der globalen Leuchttürme der Digitalisierung werden. Daher bestand ein hoher Druck, bei allen Projekten und allen beteiligten Mitarbeitern des Werks Ergebnisse vorzuweisen. Viele Einzelprojekte waren bereits angelaufen oder befanden sich in der Projektpipeline. Es wurden Ressourcen sowohl für die Projektdurchführung als auch für das Programmmanagement rekrutiert. Es fehlte jedoch eine klare Roadmap für diese Transformation.

Ansatz

Der erste Schritt bestand darin, den Status quo zu bewerten, um die größten betrieblichen Herausforderungen zu ermitteln und die Potenziale abzuschätzen. Auf dieser Grundlage definierten wir übergreifende Arbeitsabläufe, erstellten gemeinsam Roadmaps für diese Arbeitsabläufe und legten detaillierte Projektpläne fest. Anschließend konnten wir eine Programmstruktur einrichten, die Tools zur Definition von Projekten und zur Verfolgung und Auswertung des aktuellen Projektstatus umfasste.

Ergebnisse

Das Ergebnis dieser Zusammenarbeit war ein effektives Digitalisierungsprogrammmanagement für eine wirksame Transformation, die wir nach nur 8 Wochen in Gang gesetzt hatten. Durch die gemeinsame Erstellung einer detaillierten Roadmap und Projektcharter, die die erforderlichen Ressourcen, das Budget und die geschätzten Auswirkungen enthielt, konnten wir das Digitalisierungspotenzial von 10 - 15 % ermitteln.


"Mit Hilfe des Industrie 4.0 Maturity Centers konnten wir die größten Chancen in der Fabrik effizient spezifizieren, ein umfassendes Programm entwerfen und die interne Team- und Berichtsstruktur aufbauen, um unsere digitale Leuchtturmfabrik Realität werden zu lassen."

Frank Elbers
Industrial Engineering & Supply Excellence Manager
Mars Nederland BV.


Digitalization opportunity
> 10 - 15% identified

Effective digitalization program
up and running after 8 weeks

Dr.-Ing. Tobias Harland
Dr.-Ing. Tobias Harland

Senior Manager

Tobias.Harland@i40mc.de


Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Ihre Auswahl wurde gesichert.