Providing actionable KPIs and enable data-driven decisions through Industrie 4.0 at Metalúrgica Fey in Brazil

A project in cooperation with SENAI -Serviço Nacional de Aprendizagem Industrial

Customer

Metalúrgica Fey Ltda. was founded in 1966 and is a family owned company which is located in Indaial, Santa Catarina, in the southern region of Brazil. They are one of the largest manufacturers of fasteners in Brazil with a large production range of fasteners for the automotive and agricultural markets. Offering various production methods with confirmation, machining and surface treatment for their products, they export worldwide.

Challenge

Fey has eliminated a previously diverse application landscape through a thoughtful and structured introduction of a new ERP system. Through the consistent use of this ERP system along all processes and some special applications, the formerly paper-based processes are gradually being digitized. Through this and an extensive connection of the machines to a MES, a large treasure trove of data is available.

The challenge for Fey, based on these successes, is to make the available data actionable for the employees and to approach the next steps of the digital transformation in a structured way.

Approach

Together, experts from I4.0MC and Senai first analyzed Fey’s digital maturity in the areas of equipment, IT applications, organization and culture. The acatech Industry 4.0 Maturity Index was utilized for this purpose. Workshops, process walks and interviews with management and department heads were conducted in order to develop the status quo of the plant in production, maintenance, engineering, planning and scheduling, logistics and quality. Current process flow, procedures, planned projects and pain points were discussed there. In a joint workshop, Fey’s Industrie 4.0 vision and understanding were elaborated to create a foundation for mutual exchange. Based on this, an individual Industrie 4.0 roadmap with concrete and feasible improvement measures that specifically address the different departments, which helped Fey to start directly with their digital transformation.

Results

Together, concrete action items, within a plantwide roadmap, were defined to improve the existing database. This establishes a new way of working that puts the focus on the employee by better providing them with required information at the right time. As a result, management and the shop floor will be able to make data-based decisions supported by IT systems, in their day-to-day business.  Included in these action items was replacing manual KPI reports with dynamic and automated reporting using PowerBI for management. On the shop floor, available data is used to create automated notifications that inform supervisors of relevant process deviations and improve process quality. To make these notifications actionable, employees must have low-threshold access to information and notifications through the use of mobile devices.


“We have extensive data in all areas of the company, but it is sometimes difficult for employees to use them. The project helped us to set up a concrete roadmap for using this data much more efficiently and in real time for optimizing our processes.”

Ricardo Fey Neto
Director Production, Metalúrgica Fey


Faster response to unplanned machine downtime

Reduced effort for creating reports or editing checklists

Higher OEE through analysis of (micro-)downtimes

Your Contact

Dr.-Ing. Felix Optehostert
Dr.-Ing. Felix Optehostert

Senior Manager

Felix.Optehostert@i40mc.de

Get in touch with Felix now


This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

This website is using cookies to provide a good browsing experience

These include essential cookies that are necessary for the operation of the site, as well as others that are used only for anonymous statistical purposes, for comfort settings or to display personalized content. You can decide for yourself which categories you want to allow. Please note that based on your settings, not all functions of the website may be available.

Your cookie preferences have been saved.

Bereitstellung von aussagekräftigen KPIs und Unterstützung bei der Maschineneinstellung durch Industrie 4.0 bei Metalúrgica Fey

Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit SENAI -Serviço Nacional de Aprendizagem Industrial

Kunde

Metalúrgica Fey Ltda. wurde 1966 gegründet und ist ein Familienunternehmen mit Sitz in Indaial, Santa Catarina, in der südlichen Region Brasiliens. Es ist einer der größten Hersteller von Verbindungselementen in Brasilien mit einer großen Produktionspalette von Verbindungselementen für den Automobil- und Landwirtschaftsmarkt. Sie bieten verschiedene Produktionsmethoden mit Bestätigung, Bearbeitung und Oberflächenbehandlung für ihre Produkte an und exportieren weltweit.

Herausforderung

Fey hat durch eine durchdachte und strukturierte Einführung eines neuen ERP-Systems eine bisher vielfältige Anwendungslandschaft beseitigt. Durch die konsequente Nutzung dieses ERP-Systems entlang aller Prozesse und einiger Spezialanwendungen werden die ehemals papierbasierten Prozesse nach und nach digitalisiert. Hierdurch und durch die hohe Anbindung der Anlagen an ein MES steht ein großer Datenschatz zur Verfügung.

Die Herausforderung für Fey besteht darin, aufbauend auf diesen Erfolgen, die vorhandenen Daten für die Mitarbeiter nutzbar zu machen und die nächsten Schritte der digitalen Transformation strukturiert anzugehen.

Ansatz

Gemeinsam analysierten die Experten von I4.0MC und Senai zunächst den digitalen Reifegrad von Fey in den Bereichen Ressourcen, IT-Systeme, Organisation und Kultur. Dazu wurde der acatech Industrie 4.0 Maturity Index herangezogen. In Workshops, Prozessbegehungen und Interviews wurde der Status quo des Werks in den Bereichen Produktion, Instandhaltung, Planung und Disposition, Logistik und Qualität erarbeitet. In einem gemeinsamen Workshop wurden die Industrie 4.0-Vision und das Industrie 4.0-Verständnis von Fey erarbeitet. Darauf aufbauend wurde eine individuelle Industrie 4.0-Roadmap mit konkreten und umsetzbaren Verbesserungsmaßnahmen erstellt, die Fey half, direkt mit der digitalen Transformation zu beginnen.

Ergebnisse

Gemeinsam wurden konkrete Aktionspunkte zur Nutzung und Verbesserung der bestehenden Datenbank definiert. Das Ergebnis ist, dass das Management und die Mitarbeiter in den Betrieben in der Lage sein werden, noch fundiertere Entscheidungen im Tagesgeschäft zu treffen. Zu diesen Aktionspunkten gehörte die Ablösung manueller KPI-Berichte durch dynamische und automatisierte Berichte mit PowerBI für das Management. In der Fertigung werden die verfügbaren Daten genutzt, um automatische Benachrichtigungen zu erstellen, die Mitarbeiter über relevante Prozessabweichungen informieren und die Prozessqualität verbessern. Damit diese Benachrichtigungen umsetzbar sind, müssen die Mitarbeiter durch den Einsatz mobiler Geräte niedrigschwelligen Zugang zu Informationen und Benachrichtigungen haben.


“Wir verfügen über umfangreiche Daten in allen Bereichen des Unternehmens, aber für die Mitarbeiter ist es manchmal schwierig, sie zu nutzen. Das Projekt hat uns geholfen, einen konkreten Fahrplan aufzustellen, wie wir diese Daten viel effizienter und in Echtzeit zur Optimierung unserer Prozesse nutzen können.”

Ricardo Fey Neto

Direktor Produktion, Metalúrgica Fey


Höhere OEE durch Analyse von (Mikro-)Stillstandszeiten

Geringerer Aufwand für die Erstellung von Berichten oder die Bearbeitung von Checklisten

Schnellere Reaktion auf ungeplante Maschinenstillstände

Ihr Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Felix Optehostert
Dr.-Ing. Felix Optehostert

Senior Manager

Felix.Optehostert@i40mc.de

Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt mit Felix Optehostert auf


Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Diese Website nutzt Cookies, um bestmögliche Funktionalität bieten zu können.

Dazu gehören wesentliche Cookies, die für den Betrieb der Website erforderlich sind, sowie andere, die nur für anonyme statistische Zwecke, für Komforteinstellungen oder zur Anzeige personalisierter Inhalte verwendet werden. Sie können selbst entscheiden, welche Kategorien Sie zulassen möchten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass aufgrund Ihrer Einstellungen möglicherweise nicht alle Funktionen der Website zur Verfügung stehen.

Ihre Auswahl wurde gesichert.